Yoga Sutra 1.6

 In Yoga Sutras

Yoga Sutra 1.6: प्रमाण विपर्यय विकल्प निद्रा स्मृतय



pramāna viparyaya vilkapa nidrā smṛtayaḥ

(prah-man-ah vip-ar-yai-yah vi-kal-pah ni-drah smeer-tie-a-ha)


The Five Vṛttis are: Right Knowledge (pramāna), Wrong Knowledge (viparyaya), Imagination (vilkapa), Sleep (nidrā) and Memory (smṛtayaḥ).


  • प्रमाण   pramāna – right knowledge, correct perception
  • विपर्यय viparyaya – wrong knowledge, misconception
  • विकल्प vilkapa – imagination
  • निद्रा     nidrā – sleep 
  • स्मृतय   smṛtayaḥ – memory

The five vṛttis help us to understand how the world around us is effecting our mental state and effecting our ability to clearly see the true nature of our being. It’s a confusing world out there. On top of just trying to find our way through life we also need to contend with the way we are effected by the vṛttis. The 5 vṛttis are Right Knowledge, Wrong Knowledge, Imagination, Sleep and Memory. 

In today’s world it feels that everywhere you look there is a company or an idea or a sport trying to grab your attention. In order to hold your attention we are flooded with information that our minds have to sift through to discover the truth. This leads us to one of the most complicated questions that we are faced with in life. What is True? And who gets to define the Truth?

In the following 5 Sutras we will explore the 5 ways in which the mind is effected by the Truth, the lack of Truth, the Imagination, Sleep and the recall of Memory.

<<< Click Here For Yoga Sutra 1.5                                                                                                                                  Click Here For Yoga Sutra 1.7 >>>

Leave a Comment


Start typing and press Enter to search